142. AC/DC

A few months ago, I put together a post on AC/DC and Aerosmith, two popular bands not represented on iTunes. You have to collect their songs by purchasing CDs. AC/DC is an Australian rock band, whose simple, straightforward rock and roll songs have an irresistible charm:

AC/DC History on Wikipedia

Official AC/DC Website

Originally the collection had two songs from Highway To Hell, including my all-time favorite, “The Girl’s Got Rhythm”. I went out and bought three albums: Back In Black, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap and High Voltage. I still need a copy of the song “Sin City”, from the album Powerage. Here’s why:

Listening to the various songs added, I have trouble getting excited about them, and it just may be a matter of timing; my interest in simple, well executed, power chord rock songs, may have passed before they became famous. In high school, I was interested in bands like Robin Trower, Joe Walsh and Montrose, and I tend to like their work better.

AC/DC Songs:

Girls Got Rhythm, AC/DC ✭✭✭✭✭

Problem Child, AC/DC ✭✭✭
Sin City, AC/DC ✭✭✭

You Shook Me All Night Long, AC/DC ✭✭
Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, AC/DC ✭✭
Live Wire, AC/DC ✭✭
T.N.T., AC/DC ✭✭
High Voltage, AC/DC ✭✭
Highway To Hell, AC/DC ✭✭
Shoot To Thrill, AC/DC ✭✭

It’s A Long Way To The Top (If You Want To Rock And Roll), AC/DC
Hells Bells, AC/DC
Back In Black, AC/DC
Big Balls, AC/DC

“Girls Got Rhythm” is a fantastic song. It tells me all I need to know about AC/DC. I feel somehow deficient for not liking these groups more. It’s a great big world out there, I suppose. Or I’m getting old.

One thought on “142. AC/DC

  1. Cheryl March 26, 2010 / 10:43 PM

    So surprised you did not mention “on the lighter side” the importance of their song “it’s a long way to the top” in the movie school of rock. of course, it could be it’s just one of my favs and the movie is a personal favorite but the movie is so funny, so sweet but so appealing and here is this really great acdc song that took a whole different personality when it seemed like it was written just for the movie.

Leave a Reply

