181. Sheryl Crow

While reviewing Sheryl Crow, I ran into a bit of resistance from a close friend. In particular, we discussed two popular hits by Ms. Crow that she found objectionable. Crow’s version of Cat Stevens’ “The First Cut Is The Deepest”, originally given two stars, is substantially similar and inferior to the Rod Stewart version, and has been removed. But the real song of contention is the big hit called “Strong Enough”. My friend’s husband, who passed away recently, regarded the sentiment “Are you strong enough to be my man?” to be very narcissistic, as if her requirements are unique.

Ms. Crow manages to commit two cardinal sins here. First, a mega-popular, faithful remake of a good song, yielding millions in profits without adding to the collective music lexicon. Then, she scores a hit with questionable sentiments. I didn’t find it that repulsive; my pet peeve is guys groveling over women, unable to control themselves. Nevertheless, I reduced the rating to one star.

A detailed history of Sheryl’s life and career can be found here:

Sheryl Crow on Wikipedia

With that said, Sheryl is very cute, with a nice voice and loads of talent. Her best songs are pretty strong. She can play several instruments. She was even an all-state hurdler in high school. Talented and pretty and cool. My favorite is “If It Makes You Happy”. Maybe it’s because nobody ever thinks I’m happy around here. My Dad once commented on my perpetual sadness, then concluded “Well, if it makes you happy..”

If It Makes You Happy, Sheryl Crow ✭✭✭✭

My Favorite Mistake, Sheryl Crow ✭✭✭
Leaving Las Vegas, Sheryl Crow ✭✭✭
Soak Up The Sun, Sheryl Crow ✭✭✭
Everyday Is A Winding Road, Sheryl Crow ✭✭✭

A Change Would Do You Good, Sheryl Crow ✭✭
All I Wanna Do, Sheryl Crow ✭✭

Strong Enough, Sheryl Crow
Steve McQueen, Sheryl Crow

Related songs:

The First Cut Is The Deepest, Rod Stewart ✭✭✭
The First Cut Is The Deepest, Cat Stevens (not included in collection)

Leave a Reply

