AC/DC and Aerosmith

I’m a bit uninspired these days. Perhaps there aren’t enough new discoveries to get excited about. But I’ll have less of a chance to contribute the next ten days, and felt I should put something out there beforehand.

1. Two of the most famous rock and roll bands, AC/DC and Aerosmith, weren’t represented in the collection. I did have two songs from Highway To Hell, but that’s it. I went out and bought AC/DC’s Back In Black and High Voltage, plus an Aerosmith greatest hits compilation. So far I have added the following:

Hells Bells, AC/DC
Shoot To Thrill, AC/DC ✭✭
Back In Black, AC/DC
You Shook Me All Night Long, AC/DC ✭✭
Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution, AC/DC ✭✭
It’s A Long Way To The Top (If You Want To Rock And Roll), AC/DC ✭✭✭
Rock ‘n’ Roll Singer, AC/DC ✭✭
Live Wire, AC/DC ✭✭
T.N.T., AC/DC ✭✭
HIgh Voltage, AC/DC ✭✭
Highway To Hell, AC/DC ✭✭
Girls Got Rhythm, AC/DC ✭✭✭✭

AC/DC, in their prime with original singer Bon Scott, performs “Sin City” in 1978:

Dream On, Aerosmith ✭✭✭
Same Old Song And Dance, Aerosmith ✭✭
Walk This Way, Aerosmith ✭✭
Sweet Emotion, Aerosmith ✭✭✭
Last Child, Aerosmith
Rag Doll, Aerosmith

Here Aerosmith performs Johnny Burnette’s rockabilly classic “Train Kept A Rollin”. This song was my first introduction to the band in 1974. My friend Timm used to work at the local college radio station and introduced me to many new sounds. I paid attention.

AC/DC and Aerosmith catalogs are not available on iTunes, which accounts for the late addition of these two important bands. Listening to the various songs added, I have trouble getting excited about them, and it just may be a matter of timing; my interest in simple, well executed, power chord rock songs, may have passed before they became famous. In high school, I was interested in bands like Robin Trower, Joe Walsh and Montrose, and I tend to like their work better.

I need to add a few more, like AC/DC’s “Dirty Deeds Done DIrt Cheap” and “Sin City, plus Aerosmith’s “Train Kept A Rollin'”, which are added to the wish list. Some of the one star songs may eventually be deleted; although Aerosmith was wildly successful in the late 80s and early 90s, I can’t get behind any of their big hits.

“Girls Got Rhythm” is a fantastic song. Eventually I may give it five stars. It tells me all I need to know about AC/DC. I feel somehow deficient for not liking these groups more. It’s a great big world out there, I suppose. Or I’m getting old.

One thought on “AC/DC and Aerosmith

Leave a Reply

