Adding A Few Songs From The Wish List

I gave myself a little Christmas present, buying three CDs containing songs on the wish list. The following songs have been deleted from the Wish List:

Your Own Sweet Way, Notting Hillbillies ✭✭
Anna (Go To Him), Arthur Alexander ✭✭✭
Soldier Of Love (Lay Down Your Arms), Arthur Alexander ✭✭
I Ain’t Drunk, Tom Principato ✭✭✭

I bought Arthur Alexander’s greatest hits, and added two more songs off the compilation:

You Better Move On, Arthur Alexander ✭✭
A Shot Of Rhythm And Blues, Arthur Alexander ✭✭

Arthur Alexander is not well known, and was not very successful, unless you consider his impact on two very important bands:

Anna (Go To Him), The Beatles ✭✭✭
Soldier Of Love (Lay Down Your Arms), The Beatles ✭✭✭
A Shot Of Rhythm And Blues, The Beatles

You Better Move On, The Rolling Stones ✭✭ (two versions in the collection)

Clearly, John Lennon loved Arthur Alexander. John’s performance of “Soldier Of Love” from the BBC Sessions is particularly nice.

Many years ago, back in the mid-1980s, I lived in a small apartment on Woodland Avenue, on the border between Palo Alto and East Palo Alto. The San Francisquito Creek divided Santa Clara County from San Mateo County, and there was a stark difference between the two towns. Anyway, one of my best friends lived right across the hallway, and most Friday evenings we’d hurry home to hang out, drink a few (or in my case, a few more) beers and maybe play a game or two of Trivial Pursuit. In fact, the exercise was referred to as “TP and a TP”: Trivial Pursuit and a Twelve Pack.

The radio station of choice back then was KFOG, 104.5 FM, and every Friday at 5:00 PM they would feature their “weekend salute”, which always began with two songs, I Ain’t Drunk by Geoff Muldaur and Smoke Two Joints by the Toyes. After a couple years, they dropped the first song, but played Smoke Two Joints at 5 PM on Fridays for a few more years. They may still play it, as far as I know I always liked I Ain’t Drunk (I’m Just Drinkin’), a jump blues tune, much better.

I Ain’t Drunk by Geoff Muldaur has been very hard to find. Geoff Muldaur is Maria Muldaur’s brother. Maria is most famous for her hit song “Midnight At The Oasis”. Occasionally I find used copies of the album available through Amazon for a huge premium, one I am unwilling to pay for. I check the iTunes Music Store periodically as well. So last month, I was reviewing the versions of “I Ain’t Drunk” on iTunes and noticed a version by Tom Principato. I remembered the name as being a member of Geoff Muldaur’s band, and sure enough, it is the version I am familiar with. I addition, I also added the version Jimmy Liggins, which appears to be the original. From doing research, it appears Albert Collins is also known for this song. His version was not added.

MIdnight At The Oasis, Maria Muldaur ✭✭
I Ain’t Drunk, Jimmy Liggins ✭✭✭
Smoke Two Joints, The Toyes

You can listen to I Ain’t Drunk by either Jimmy Liggins or Albert Collins on YouTube, but I’m not inclined to feature non-live performances on the blog. So here’s Don’t Play That Song by Aretha Franklin, backed by the Franklin sisters:

Tight!

Don’t Play That Song (You Lied), Aretha Franklin ✭✭✭
Don’t Play That Song (You Lied), Ben E. King ✭✭

Please note that Don’t Play That Song is written by Ahmet Ertegun, the great founder of Atlantic Records.

Leave a Reply

