Busy Behind The Scenes

In the last month, I have been home in front of my computer a great deal, writing my book and spending time refining the iPod collection. As part of the initial transfer of songs, I recorded some complete CDs onto the collection. In the last few weeks, I have been reviewing the unrated songs. I then either rate it or remove it from the collection. In some cases, that song may be a well known tune by a well known performer, who does not possess a definitive performance of the song, in which case I will search the iTunes library and add a well-known, or superior performance.

For instance, I had a copy of “Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child”, by Van Morrison on his Poetic Champions Compose album. I love Van, but felt the collection should have this famous gospel song represented differently. I reviewed the choices on the ITunes library and looked at the Wikipedia entry for the song. As a result, I added two versions, one by Little Jimmy Scott and a jazz version by Charlie Haden and Hank Jones. This adds two more artists to the list of performers featured in the collection, not to mention two versions I enjoy better than the Van Morrison version. I think Van would be OK with that.

Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child, Little Jimmy Scott ✭✭
Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child, Charlie Haden and Hank Jones ✭✭

Nevertheless, it’s been hard to find songs I would initially give the ✭✭✭ ranking. I have added about a hundred songs in the last month, while removing about the same amount. In the last month, I have reduced the number of unrated songs from about 1700 to about 1300. In fact, as of last week, the stats were as follows:

✭✭✭✭✭ – 109 songs
✭✭✭✭ – 902 songs
✭✭✭ – 2400 songs
✭✭ – 2705 songs
✭ – 691 songs
✫ – 1313 songs (only 25-50 of these are actual zero star songs)

Total number of songs in the collection: 8120

There have simply been too many additions to include them all. That’s enough for now.

Leave a Reply

