Writing About Music

Periodically, I read music reviews in Rolling Stone magazine and the All Music Guide. The authors have a beautiful command of the English language, descriptive and florid. I can’t write creatively like that, nor technically analyze the musical content to a great extent, though I did take a few years of guitar lessons. My gift is my memory. I remember lots of songs, their names and the artists who performed them. I augment that with an insatiable desire to continue finding new songs that will move me, if even for a few weeks in my life.

Everybody has their own tastes, and I’m no different. My tastes are pretty broad, and I’m sure there will be something that interests my eventual audience.

Inbetween writing a book about golf, I will try to add occasional posts until I’ve made a few dozen. Then I’ll e-mail my friends to check it out, after which I may start to attract a small audience.

Here’s Kenny Rogers and the First Edition from 1972 singing Mel Tillis’s “Ruby, Don’t Take Your Love To Town”:

Ruby, Don’t Take Your Love To Town, Kenny Rogers & The First Edition ✭✭✭✭
Ruby, Don’t Take Your Love To Town, Cake ✭✭

Leave a Reply

