Beware, By Louis Jordan

While perusing through a few YouTube videos, I watched an old movie clip of Louis Jordan performing “Beware”. I double-checked the collection. It wasn’t there, so I have added Beware, Early In The Mornin’, and Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t My Baby, a song I first heard in the early 1980s on Joe Jackson’s Jumpin’ Jive album. Here is the classic YouTube video of Beware:

Louis Jordan was a singer and saxophone player who had his greatest success in the 1940s, especially after the second World War. His music is at times funny, at others touching. Here is the Wikipedia entry for Louis Jordan:

Wikipedia/Louis Jordan

Beware, Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five ★★★
Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t My Baby, Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five ★★
Early In The Mornin’, Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five ★★★

I also have two other versions of Early In The Mornin’, by Ray Charles and by Van Morrison from a live German broadcast in 2003:

Early In The Mornin’, Ray Charles ★★
Early In The Mornin’, Van Morrison, Live At The Tempodrom, 2003 ★★

I have seventeen songs by Louis Jordan in my collection, four of which I give a four star rating:

Choo Choo Ch’ Boogie, Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five ★★★★
Knock Me A Kiss, Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five ★★★★
Nobody Loves You When You’re Down And Out, Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five ★★★★
Jack, You’re Dead!, Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five ★★★★

Leave a Reply

